miércoles, 29 de junio de 2011



Bronx, NY (June 29, 2011). New York Yankees second baseman, Robinson Cano will be honored today (June 29,2011) in the Bronx as the 2010 American League LatinoMVP. The award is given annually by Latino Sports and voted on by more than sixty sports writers and announcers who are voting members of the Latino Sports Writers & Broadcasters Association (LSWBA).

The LatinoMVP awards, now celebrating its 22nd anniversary are considered the most prestigious award given to Latino baseball players. Albert Pujols is the reining national League winner and has won the award for the last seven years in a row.

Mr. Cano becomes the first player in the history of the awards to win both the Rookie of the Year award in his first full season as a Yankee’s in 2005 and now the LatinoMVP.

Cano had a very stiff competition from other outstanding Latino players in the American league like Adrián Beltré, David Ortiz and Magglio Ordoñez, but the New York Yankee second baseman received enough first and second place votes to pull him over the top.

Cano was happy to hear about his selection as the top Latino in the American League for the 2010 season and his interview can be seen on Latino Sports T.V. on Latinosports.com

The Latino MVP awards began in 1989 when many in the Latino media & community felt that perhaps Ruben Sierra of the Texas Rangers was overlooked for the American League MVP, which was given to Robin Yount of the Milwaukee Brewers. Since then the LSWBA was formed to acknowledge the performance of Latino baseball players.

The other winners were:

National League LatinoMVP.
Albert Pujols, St. Louis Cardinals.

American League LatinoMVP.
Robinson Cano, New York Yankees.

NL MVP Pitcher Of The Year.
Jonathan Sanchez, San Francisco Giants.

AL MVP Pitcher Of The Year.
Felix Hernández, Seattle Mariners.

ML -Most Outstanding Pitcher – Juan Marichal Award.
Ubaldo Jimenez, Colorado Rockies.

NL Rookie Of The Year.
Neftali Feliz, Texas Rangers.

AL Rookie Of The Year.
Starlin Castro, Chicago Cubs.

NL Relief Pitcher Of The Year.
Carlos Mármol, Chicago Cubs.

AL Relief Pitcher Of The Year (Tied).
Joakim Soria, KC Royals.
Mariano Rivera, NY Yankees.

The 2010 National League Comeback Player of the Year award will go to Angel Pagan of the NY Mets. A new award was established this year that does not necessarily have to go to a Latino player. The award is titled: The Roberto Clemente – Player of the Year Award. This award will recognize a player for his achievements off the field as to how the player inter-relates with the Latino Press and to the fans. This year’s winners are: New York Mets, second baseman, David Wright in the National league and Boston Red Sox designated hitter, David “Big Papi” Ortiz in the American League.

News Send by LatinoSports.com